Reflection on Final Assessment

” Presented By : Vivien & Holiday “

For my final assessment of this subject, I was assigned to choose a topic that been learnt so far and share the ideas in the digital format (Digital Storytelling Project). As we already knew that, every one of us owned a mobile phone today. The seriousness of the mobile addiction has become increase in day by day. This is why; I had an idea of choosing “mobile audience” as a focus and guide for this assessment.

Well, making an effective and impact digital storytelling is not easy.  Especially the most challenging part was struggle with the ideas. Luckily, the problem is being solved because this assessment can be work as a team. I ended up group with one of my classmate who able to listen my ideas, and give me feedbacks and opinion. Although both of us felt lost and lack the sense of direction on what we suppose to do in this assessment. But, we managed to brainstorm our ideas and feel confident about it. In fact, working as a team is much more benefit than others who don’t. In moving through the process both of us are having different responsible and skills. For me, I was responsible to take every single shoot in the video, info graphic and making voice over for this assessment.

As you knew that, shooting a video is not easy as what others think especially for a beginner like me. To be honest, it was my first time to shoot a long video clip by using I-phone. The reason why we choose I-phone as one of the tools to shoot this video is because the design of today’s mobile phone, make everything convenience for us. Both of us can easy to carry it everywhere without any trouble. Of cause, I-phone can help us to backup the video and sources needed. And also, the video that been transfer is just using a couple of minutes. During the shooting process, I use to choose “eye level” for shooting every single scene. It is because this angle is carrying a big emotional load where it positioned as though on what human actually being observing, which matched on our tagline as well. Besides that, I was also using medium shot and close – up is one of the technique that been used to shoot this video as well.  Therefore, the viewer can actually enjoy the video in different camera angles.

In addition, the big idea from this video is “Screen is the eye” –which also a tagline and the title of the video in our project. It means that mobile phone user keeps their eyes on to the mobile screen all the time, they just can’t live without it in every seconds, and minutes just to checking what they have been missing out. Besides that, this video is different from what the usual one. I want the viewer feel funny from this video especially on the last scene which showing the mobile phone owner using phone as a touch light in the dark room, just to capture a photo and post it to “Instagram”.

Furthermore, another hardest part in this assessment was doing the infographic and creating a voice-over as well.  For the infographic, I look for the facts and sources from different websites just to make it relevant to the scene of the video showing. While for the voice over, we planned to use “Audacity” software as a platform of creating voice over, but end up it sounds terrible and unclear. Thank to my tutor, who borrowed me the basic hardware and microphone just to captures the sound of my voice in good quality. He even spending his time to correct my pronunciation and grammar mistake that I did.

Overall, this assessment was a valuable experience for me. Although it was so difficult in the beginning, but the effort of doing this assessment are actually giving me so much fun. The challenging that I have been faced during the process was actually encouraging me to do it better. Besides, it able to extend self-learning approach and develop my digital skills as well. Besides, it not only giving me an opportunity to share the video to my friends and family somehow I just feel so proud of myself and my teammates we can make this done in just a short period of time. I just can’t wait to post my video into Youtube and shared to everyone thru my Facebook and Twitter account once the video is done.

Leave a comment